sab: (un >> the patchwork girl of oz)
LJ user equals me will be in Mexico through Dec. 29th. My physical house is being sat by [livejournal.com profile] samdonne, and my virtual house will be sat by [livejournal.com profile] runpunkrun. Obey them as you would me! Or, you know, whatever. See you on the flipside!

And if anything amazing happens in [livejournal.com profile] yuletide, e-mail me? I've got big plans to check e-mail at the promised internet cafe in Mazatlan.
sab: (Default)
There is nothing I have wanted more than a fannish home on the internet, with infrastructure and diplomacy and representation from all walks of fandom, privileged equally and in a safe space, from where we can stand as one to fight for the legitimacy of our practices AND have a home, where our sisters and lovers live, where we can come back at the end of the day and share our desires and our picspams and porn. I've always envisioned fandom as a kind of sprawling city -- certainly in number and in vocality we are as large and impressive as any subculture, with our own jargon, needs, values, and subcommunities. Just like in the days when het writers railed against slash writers, or slash writers railed against RPSers, at the end of the day, I hope/believe we continue to find more in what unites us than divides us -- hence the need for an umbrella'd home for us all to explore our potentiality as producers of fannish content and our community as it sails toward legitimacy and intellectual ownership.

The OTW site went live, to the expected range of responses from glee to wank, love to hate. And as there are as many kinds of fannish people as there are fish in the sea (or whatever) it's unsurprising -- except for the fact that this Organization is specifically set up to represent ALL OF US.

I know most of the board members of the OTW personally, along with the staff of the academic journal and the legion of fannish volunteers trying to get involved, and while I have tremendously high hopes for the project, there are some significant obstacles standing between the OTW as it is now and the ideal OTW that we can all get behind and feel part of.

early concerns about the OTW, fannish migration, and the FUTURE )

ETA: Several comments have pointed out that I've been too heavy-handed on the female-space side while simultaneously trying to preach inclusivity -- whoops! Some irresponsible/flippant language use there on my part; sorry. By "female space" I'm actually lifting that from the OTW mission statement, and from the fact that, insofar as fandom is a gendered entity, this kind of textual poaching is considered "fangirl" behaviour (vs. action figures, comics, and video games, described as "fanboy" behavior -- see also the Jenkins debates on Gender and Fan Culture for more about these linguistic gendered activities, while remembering of course that just because a behavior is considered "fanboyish" or "fangirlish" it's still open to and participated in by men, women, transpeople, etc.) and in the OTW's political statement and much academic work that's written on participatory culture, our breed of ficwriting and production of works has been generally gendered female. FWIW.

On the otherhand, my offhanded "lesbians" comment was not at all meant to be a description of everyone around here, it just came as part of a list that included knitters and librarians -- and as neither a knitter nor a librarian, obviously I don't think that's all we are, I was just, you know, being rhetorical.

Anyway, thanks to the folks who pointed out my oversight -- and I am right there on board with making the OTW protective of ALL walks of fanlife and all methods of participation.
sab: (Default)
So, about Facebook. Yes, it's a whole new site that you have to register for, and yes, it certainly has its share of problems regarding policies, but no more than any other internet giant. Here's the thing:

> It's surprisingly easy to set up. Seriously, it's like a fully furnished apartment, and the furniture's, like, basic Ikea stock but perfectly serviceable for a sublet.

> It's also surprisingly easy to customize. It has these little external apps that plug in like widgets, and they're seriously drag-and-drop. And, strangely, turn out to be apps you want to use.

> But, mostly? Remember that kid in third grade, who was kind of a dork but you always secretly thought he was interesting, and that he'd probably grow up to be an architect or something cool? He could totally BE an architect now! He's on Facebook. And you could reconnect, with all that stupid school social grace gone, like grownups, and make new old friends. It's crazypants, I swear. Remember that incredibly hot camp counselor? She is also totally on Facebook, and you can send her a message and within days be playing Scrabble with her on one of your Facebook widget thingies. I'm telling you, crazypants. The possibilities are limitless.

Anyway, I'm not being, like, a commercial for Facebook, despite my current appreciation for the fact that it's a remarkably easy, friendly place, without obtrusive ads or spam, that can be used for a variety of purposes from tracking down college buddies to hooking up with fannish people in a real-name space (awesome!) to meeting random people to bite and turn into zombies.

The vague corporate entity control is still definitely present in some places, with their drop-down boxes for things like religion and sexuality and political affiliation, where I can't type in "Progressive" and am forced to present as "Liberal." And as a poly person it's potentially annoying that, for Facebook values of "relationship," you can't list more than one person as a partner.

There's also the low-lingering talk of privacy violations, some of which are probably true including the one where Facebook's been posting people's online purchases (from off-site vendors, like Amazon) on their Facebook pages. That's not buddies.

But for now, I'm grooving on it.
sab: (un >> read less: more tv)
So, Razor, huh? We're going next door for the big-screen viewing party in T-minus one hourish, depending on how long it takes to pop the popcorn...

Did you watch it? Did you post a review? Did your review address things lesbionic and queer and cylonish? If so, or even if your review was just funny or had a doodle of a turtle, link me, will you? I have [livejournal.com profile] musesfool, [livejournal.com profile] chr0me_kitten and [livejournal.com profile] moireachs reviews to read once I've watched the flick, but it's also important to point out that my girlfriend is, like, this smart cylon lesbian doctoral candidate, and YOU TOO could be quoted or referenced in her dissertation! Do share.

Or just go to town in the comments, spoilers are cool, spit at me! Kendra Shaw, our new BFF, or Pegasus's version of the Kat-model non-Cylon? Michelle Forbes, painfully hot chick with a knife, or the painfully HOTTEST chick with a knife? Starbuck: has two mommies? Cain: Roslin's Dark Sister? Cylons: Just How Queer Are They? Go on, dissertate, you know you wanna.

[livejournal.com profile] projectjulie, don't say I never did nothing for you.
sab: (bsg >> helo's the big blind)
> Time Crash: the ULTIMATE fannish wet dream, or simply the most adorkably beautiful? I mean OMG. David Tennant, you gangly bespectacled fanboy, I love absolutely everything about you.

> We have a new feline companion! She is a stripey Bengal cat called Major Margaret Hulahoop, and she is absolutely brilliant and can do things like air backflips and chair-scratching and silent openmouthed meowing. She is [livejournal.com profile] projectjulie's furry touchstone.

> And we spent the day at the BSG con in Burbank! Even though [livejournal.com profile] somedaybitch couldn't make it (le sniff!) a good time was had by all, though lemme tell you, SURREAL to be at that Burbank hotel and not see our Farscapers around. Ah, the days. We had a time, I'll tell you. Still, Tahmoh Penniket hung out in the Daily Grill and watched sports on TV, so.

> I'm in the middle of a rebellion in my WBC class, where five of my classmates elected me defacto leader and spokeswoman for our sub-class cabal, and sent me to parley with the instructor about how the class dynamics are fucked up and how the stupid people are wasting all of our time. Instead, I got poached from that class by the instructor, and was put into the (supposedly) better and more advanced class. "But just you," the instructor said. "Not the rest of your group." So now it's all about writing a diplomatic e-mail to my cabal members and explaining to them how to get the most out of the class, without mentioning that *I*, ahem, won't be there.

> [livejournal.com profile] furies, call Lizzie. I'll e-mail you her number. She does mindfulness with her 4th graders every day, and I think you two could have a good powwow/teacher swap. I spoke to her today and she's expecting yer call, little sister.

> So who's on this Facebook thingy? Me, I am, that's who. Is it possible I joined just so I could see [livejournal.com profile] nevers's trapeze videos? Yes, yes it is.
sab: (btvs >> i hate being poor)
> Still sick, but the mucus and misery has moved north to my nasal area, as opposed to south to my chestal area, which means we're wrapping this particular cold up pretty soon, once I sneeze the whole bastard out. *ka-choo!* (Oh, that makes me want more Strangers in Paradise, sigh)

> Cleaning, laundering, and preparing for [livejournal.com profile] projectjulie's arrival tomorrow night, and quietly whispering to Hawkeye that that's not going to be his pillow for a while.

> Missed this week: Dirty Sexy Money, Numb3rs, Pushing Daisies, Scrubs. Heard PD was preempted for some sort of music awards? What of the others, pray?

> Dexter and Heroes both shoot on the studio lot where I "work," and every time I've been over there this week the writing staff of both shows have been picketing their hearts out. I squatted on the curb and shared cigarettes with some of them today, and told them I'd just turned down a job on their lot. Commiseration! Almost as good as financial compensation! Except for the money part. Oh, powers of the universe, end this strike SOON, solve the problem of digital distribution, and bring MONEY FOR EVERYONE!

> [livejournal.com profile] fmangel and [livejournal.com profile] yahtzee63, I've now finished Mad Men and you were both right and I love it like wildfire and require MORE. World, if you're looking for strike-time back TV, watch MAD MEN. Also watch HUSTLE, and also watch DEXTER. I point out Hustle because they (at one point) showed it alongside Mad Men on AMC, and I point out Dexter, because Stacie from Hustle is now Dexter's latest foil, Lila the NA sponsor. She was better on Hustle. *g*

> No, seriously, I am a one woman Lego playtime mucus factory over here.

> Also, I still need HIMYM icons, and probably some Hustle and Mad Men icons too. Who's my sponsor?
sab: (Default)
So.

I got the paperwork via e-mail with all the (nice, big) dollar figures in. BUT, the producer moved the meeting to Monday. With a little "and bring the paperwork in so we can get it signed" at the end. He also mentioned that a "new show at the network" was keeping him busy today, which, okay, maybe it's reality or a panel show or whatever, but still, suspicious, no?

Anyway, so I e-mailed back, told him I'd be happy to meet him for coffee Monday and talk about the project, but that I wasn't prepared to sign anything until the strike's over.

And that brings us to the mo.

Thank y'all for your comments and advice, really. This is just a horrible sticky wicket and it means a lot to me to have troops advising me and supporting me. The strike is serious business, and since I'm not that many years or months away from wanting to reap my own percentage of back-end profit on digital distribution, we have to stick this one out.

I spoke to my lawyer this morning and we talked about various potential workarounds, but unless something uncannily deus ex machina happens before or during my meeting Monday, it doesn't seem likely.

I am hoping he holds out till after the strike's over, because I genuinely have a ton of good ideas for this project and am positively itching to get to work on them. But, in the end, whatever, dude.

Back to the salt mines!
sab: (un >> i am sab and i live in la)
Several weeks ago I was approached by a producer with a script that needed a rewrite. I signed a non-disclosure agreement and a work-for-hire contract about three weeks ago, and got a copy of the script. Since then, I have put together notes and a pitch for potential rewrite concepts, and presented them to the producer on Wednesday.

He liked my changes, and wants to hire me to rewrite the script. We're meeting tomorrow (Sat) to talk about the deal, etc.

And in case you hadn't heard, there's a writer's strike in this town. I am not a WGA member, but any non-WGA member found taking writing work during the strike will be banned from the union for no less than five years. Plus, you know, crossing picket lines and whatnot = not of the awesome.

I just brought my car into the shop to learn it needs another $1000 in repairs. I am, as usual, DEAD BROKE.

This job could potentially pay between $10,000-$20,000, as well as ingratiating me into this production company that has two other future projects they're considering me for, if this one goes well.

FUCK ME GENTLY WITH A CHAINSAW, says I.

There are workarounds, like backdating the contract and/or working under a pseud, but any of these can be penetrated without much effort. Even backdating the contract to the date three weeks ago when I signed the NDA is suspicious -- at that point producers were EXPECTING a strike and could have brought in non-guild members as scabs in advance for future projects.

My WBC instructor has told me I really can't take the job. I haven't heard from my lawyer or any of my other industry phone calls yet. I'm going in to this meeting tomorrow.

I legitimately have no idea what I'm going to do. FUCK FUCK FUCK.
sab: (un >> making shit up macgyver-style)
So what I'm doing is working on this mafia script and listening to my Zune on Shuffle All over here at Ground Work (hi Liz! I totally thought yesterday was Friday and that TODAY was Saturday, and, anyway, I'm a mess over here) and as a little treat to myself I'm jotting down a lyric from each song the Zune spits (unless I'm not paying attention or, somehow, working too hard to notice, in which case I might skip a song or two), and then we can all play that game that [livejournal.com profile] walkingshadow resurrected today.

Will continue listing lyrics here till I get bored, cold, or hungry, or until I finish these script notes -- whichever comes first. Um, heh.

click here )
sab: (un >> read less: more tv)
[Poll #1078555]

And you'll tell me why, and where to nab 'em, in comments? Comments on Chuck (fun, ironic, entertaining!) noted and logged from previous post! But tell me -- is it precious? In love with itself? Tiresomely ironic?

Criteria!

Nothing where the crux of any given episode hinges upon who loves/fucks/betrays who (unless, in the case of Dirty Sexy Money, it's got a Peter Krause voiceover and KENNEDYS and LIONS and PARTIES on the BROOKLYN BRIDGE). Nothing with teenagers who don't have superpowers. In fact, nothing with teenagers that DO have superpowers. Nothing that loves itself so much it thinks it's the second coming of Judd Apatow. Nothing that is "Heroes" or "Lost."

ISO: Something with vaguely apocalyptic undertones. Something with angry and/or reluctant heroes. Something with smart ensembles. Something with funny people in it. Something with character arcs AND monsters of the week. Anything vaguely gay or in space is always an automatic winner. Something with thigh holsters. Something with pathological liars and incredibly awkward hilarious people.

ALSO, please go on and send me toward other, non-2007 series that you think I'll like, AND, preferably, the locations on the series of tubes where one might "acquire" said episodes. SRSLY, if it's not in my userinfo and you haven't heard me babbling about it, I probably haven't seen it. If it's British or Canadian, even better.
sab: (xf >> public access porn)
fig. 1, fleshverse:

> Draft #2 of my Bones spec script is due Tuesday to my WBC instructors, and then another script conference and then, whatever, fixing/shopping.

> I'm doing a pitch for a rewrite of this mafia feature film for a production company, also due next week. If the producer likes my rewrite concepts, it's contract and money FTW!

> They shut my power off.

> The sky is white-orange, the air is hot and dry, coughs and nosebleeds, chapped lips and hot nights with no breeze. I had to use the air conditioner a couple days this week. MAN it's a shame they shut my power off. The fires continue to burn, and while I'm not actually in any direct threat (it would take some doing for a fire to make it to the center of Hollywood, considering the only fuel we've got besides asphalt and concrete are emaciated palm trees and people in cars) we are all definitely aware that our city's on fire. Still, I can cure what ails me with a bottle of water and some moisturizer; salute to the folks who lost their homes.

fig. 2, tvverse:

> With the cancellation of Viva Laughlin and my inability to find any more episodes of Dirty Sexy Money, it turns out that Sarah Jane Adventures might be the only new show that sticks for me this year. I had big hopes for Pushing Daisies, because the cast is phenom (srsly! Kristen Chenoweth breaking into song! Swoosie Kurtz and that chick who was in Little Shop of Horrors, with eye patches and cheese!), but the conceits (to use a WBC term) are exhausting me. I mean, how stylized can a person be before collapsing into a pile of cliche? In related news, a conversation:

ME: I think Pushing Daisies is going to regret having such a stylized narrator. I don't see how they can sustain it.

SR: They should bring him into the story and then kill him!

ME: Like in Into The Woods!

SR: See? There's precedent!

Dear LJ friends, I defy you to tell me that's not the greatest idea EVER.

> As far as continuing shows, SGA is pleasing me (hooray, Jewel Staite!), NCIS is pleasing me (though, new girl? New girl with OCD? Really, this is the shark we're jumping? She better be an evil mole like wossname, the lab assistant with the mustache) and seems to be setting up Torri Higginson for a relationship with Ducky, which would be the best use of Torri since, um, something that wasn't SGA. On the other hand, this Ziva-pining-for-Tony thing better payoff, preferably with a wrestling match, sooner rather than later. Bones is pleasing me greatly and my love for Cam deepens with every episode, and House is doing a REALITY SHOW. Seriously, this voting-off-the-island storyline House is using to find new team members is possibly the best device I've seen on television for a long while. God, I hope it whittles down to three (two? now that Foreman's back?) in true reality style, without any surprise disqualifications or non-Survivorish exiles. I mean, Anne Dudek vs. Thirteen in a fire-making tie in front of tribal council? I'd pay money. And if they bring back the rejects for tribal council? Even BETTER.

> Stacie from Hustle was on Dexter! And what's more they seem to be setting her up for an arc! Now, which one of you was supposed to be responsible for telling me these things? *looks around suspiciously* I mean, seriously? When she turned around in the AA meeting and looked at him over her shoulder, who among us didn't think, "is she roping him for a con???" And I tell ya, if she IS, I'll pay even MORE money than I would for the House thing. Man, I'm gonna need some money.

> HIMYM? Need I say more? I got the DVDs and watched all the bonus footage from seasons 1 and 2. Commentaries! Blooper reels! Totally worth it! And here's a little Neil Patrick Harris bedtime story:

So, in the commentary for the ep where Wayne Brady plays NPH's (gay, black) brother, NPH remarks that during the shooting of this ep he also happened to be going through his own "personal badness," when the tabloids were outing him and so on. NPH is careful to use nonspecific terms for his media confrontation, and never actually suggests any gayness in the commentary track except to note that the "irony wasn't lost" when it came down to shooting this big gay ep. And seasons come and go, people marry and die, and at the end of the commentary, whoever the chick was in the commentary (the writer of the ep) comments that she, like many women, always finds herself falling in love with great guys who turn out to be gay. "Sorry," says NPH, the one hint of self-outing in the DVD. Who do you think noticed? Do you think he's stressing about it at home?

> The Office, so far so good! Angela, Dwight, Andy = masters of the awesomeverse. Jim/Pam = so far used very effectively! In conclusion = let's see how it plays out.

> Reaper, Life, Chuck, Private Practice, etc etc = I am not watching any of these shows. I am not watching any new shows other than the ones mentioned above. But if you are, you should feel free to try and pimp me; I trust you. But I'll tell you right now that there's probably not a chance in hell I'll watch that Addison show.
sab: (un >> me and rusty are doomed)
Where are the awesome HIMYM icons? I need a whole fleet of Barneys to add to my wardrobe over here. Also some various Marshalls and Lilys, probably! And anything generally Neil Patrick Harris related.

You people? Haven't you made some for me? Like [livejournal.com profile] winter_baby or [livejournal.com profile] ciderpress or [livejournal.com profile] cidercupcakes or anyone else with cider and icons? Spit! Or even if you're just a shopper and saw some at a local icon store, gimme a shout? There are SO MANY REASONS to put Neil Patrick Harris in a square!
sab: (dw >> cupid if you're listening)
In an unshocking surprise to no one, the show previously celebrated here at EHCA, Viva Laughlin, has been axed.

O, America.
sab: (s >> playah!)
So [livejournal.com profile] rossetti asked for some new friends, and I pimped the hell out of a whole lotta you. And now you should do the same for me.

Whose LJs should I be reading? Who says awesome things about things? Who loves my shows and my books and my pants? Who tells marvelous stories about subways and adventures and pie?

Turn-offs include: anyone who spends more than 50% of her LJ bitching talking about either money, Weight Watchers, or SPN.

Turn-ons include: people who are funny, people who are adventuresome, people who are wicked and/or viceridden, people who watch Hustle, people who are famous/infamous.
sab: (bp >> oohhhhh CUUUPPIIDDD)
Viva Laughlin spoiler, etc )
sab: (un >> the gay messiah is here!)
Dear Sarah Jane Adventures,

If every episode is half of a two parter, what you've got here is not, in fact, a half-hour show, but rather an hour show spread across two weeks.

Hmm? Hm? Yeah.

And let's not forget that back in the great early 90s, Doogie Howser, MD was a half-hour DRAMA. Yay for groundbreaking gays! Nay for British shows (and, I mean, seriously, it's not like the Beeb or the CBeeb has, like, TIME BLOCKS to worry about, y'all could have an hour-and-ten-minute show if you wanted, or a forty-minute, seriously, let's not pretend you're trying to cram into NBC primetime or summat) that won't gimme all their content in one go!

Love,
ME
sab: (un >> slim and a little bit foxy)
I have some various extra pants and things that YOU should have, if you want them. Make a sound and we can work out postage or in-kind trade or porn or mp3s...

1. Pair of Gap black pants (the kind they probably call "chinos"), worn maybe once. Size 6 reg.
2. Pair of hunter green wide-legged 13-button sailor pants, you know, with the button flap on the front? Like these. Size 6-8ish.
3. Pair of Diesel jeans, faded black, wide band waist, size 30.
4. Black corduroy cargo pants, size 6.
5. Blue cotton indian-style shirt, blue embroidery on front, lightweight, labeled "plus size."
6. Four miscellaneous t-shirts with things on them (monsters, squares, "Camp Tawonda"), size S or XS. Good for a small woman or a big kid.

In other news, I did that guess me those lyrics meme, and there's a ton of songs left unidentified, though they might require [livejournal.com profile] runpunkrun or my sister [livejournal.com profile] spycookies to crack.

So? Pants? Songs?

PSA

Oct. 12th, 2007 10:54 pm
sab: (cas >> i can get away with it)
> Doogie Howser, M.D. was a half-hour drama.

And Neil Patrick Harris is AMAZING. I've only been watching seasons 3 and 4, as he's grown up into a man. I have a definite kink he hits, the sandy-haired deservedly arrogant genius, like Peter Krause, or Peter Stebbings, or to a greater degree, David Tennant. Where he overacts, just a little, with that kind of confident intelligence that makes my knees weak. At the end of the day it's a privilege to have Neil Patrick Harris with us on the gay team, ijs.
sab: (s >> dr. dorian and his magic rewind sti)
You've probably already seen this, but I hadn't. I just gazed at it for like fifteen minutes, navigating with the compass rose-shaped island. Awesome.

(oh and thanks [livejournal.com profile] ropo for the nudge in the right direction!)

Profile

sab: (Default)
sab

May 2018

S M T W T F S
  123 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:40 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios