sab: (Default)
Question probably only to [livejournal.com profile] yahtzee63 or anyone else watching Dirty Sexy Money: what happened to Juliet???
sab: (bb >> fuck off I'm busy not talking to y)
Look, I only understood the nuts and bolts of the financial crisis as far as it pertained to Fannie, Freddie and foreclosed mortgages. Obviously other stuff is going on, and I want to be able to have a legitimate opinion on whether using our funds to bail out big institutions is... beneficial for us in the long run?

Then I got this petition in the mail: http://financialpetition.org/petition-nobail.shtml and I swear I don't even understand the crux of the petition any more than I understood Pelosi's speech.

The one thing I did understand, or thought I understood, yesterday, was the cooperation of world banks to put aside dollars and invest in other, more stable currencies. But then, how long can the Euro stay stable if the dollar is in flux? Actually, that counts as another question.

So, [livejournal.com profile] qowf, [livejournal.com profile] jeviltwin, etc etc, can you take a look at the petition, tell me what it's saying, and try and explain the pros and cons of the bailout to me like I'm three?

If you're looking for a safe place to put your money, I've learned there's good projections for amateur/unrepresented Hungarian art; apparently it's safer than gold or bonds.

ETA:

From my father, a short (and helpful, to me) tutorial on the banking crisis and what the mortgage bailout has to do with it: why we're out of money )

I still don't understand the pros and cons of the $700B buyout as far as what other options there might be to restore the financial industry. Is there a way to solve the crisis bottom-up instead of this trickle down from banks through loans and industry? Some sort of government oversight committee set up to put caps on mortgages and make sure the homes get back to their low-income borrower/owners? What kind of checks and balances can we put in place to make a buy-in like this $700B work for the people?
sab: (Default)
Okay, so the reason Giuliani has repeatedly not run for president is because there are some skeletons and corruption in his closet that would be dug up upon any serious presidential vetting, right?

From where he stands as a former mayor and now right-wing cheerleader, he can basically say whatever he wants and his loyalists (and Republican-spun-9/11 blindsided fanboys and girls) will take him at his word and cheer him as a hero.

He stepped up to spin the debate just this week in place of Sarah Palin, because even the GOP realized that Palin is in-credible and doesn't have the savvy or influence for serious political spin. In other words, Palin's the pretty face but Giuliani is the real spinning right-hand man for McCain.

Pundits on both sides of the aisle have begun clamoring for Palin to step down from the ticket; Republicans think she's hurting the party platform -- which of course she is -- and Democrats, well, we could really care less at this point and are busily having fun soundly mocking her and watching independents swing over to our side.

But here's the thing. We've got, what, like 35 days till the election. If Palin steps down, there is time to sneak Giuliani onto the ticket at the eleventh hour, avoid any serious vetting process, bring in all his paranoid conservative warmongering fans, and lock up the election in another demonstration of democratic hijacking and dirty pool.

We on the left know we really can't survive another hijacked election with our sanity intact, and that we're that much closer to a civil war each time the right pins us as bad sports when they're the ones playing sleight of hand. So this is just some conspiracy theorizing on my part, because after being burned over the last eight years I can't help but look out for how they might burn us this time.

Is there legislation in place that forbids swapping out Palin for Giuliani at the last minute? Is there legislation for vetting a non-candidate? Do we have a smoking gun? Will it matter?

And now let's put a pin in this and just see what happens a month from now. But, you know, fool me once, fool me twice, fool me three times and I'm moving to Sweden and taking the entertainment industry, the news media, the arts, the Ivy League, good education, clean energy and health care with me. You guys can stay here with your guns and border fences. Have a nice life.

in the red

Sep. 26th, 2008 04:01 pm
sab: (btvs >> i hate being poor)
I had a WaMu account that I closed about a year ago. I left an outstanding negative balance of somewhere between $250-$300.

Did I get a free do-over with this buyout? Will they find me? Can I just ignore them and go about my merry business? You get three answers and the first two don't count.
sab: (Default)
First off, doesn't the cosmos understand that this was going to be my big exciting TV week with the debates and Survivor: Gabon?? Somehow Survivor is a hollow victory if we don't get the debates! DEBATES, PEOPLE! Man, I love a good debate.

Oh oh but first there are still about six lyrics unguessed... step right up!

More in miscellany:

[livejournal.com profile] thassalia, meet [livejournal.com profile] mydwynter. Bellydancers, general dancers, general wonderful people; have at it.

Friends of [livejournal.com profile] 30toseoul (and also Sue) who are going to miss her winterovering updates when winter is over and she leaves the ice -- among other things, read The White Darkness which is YA novel (and winner of the Printz prize) set all over the ice; from McMurdo itself to Scott-Amundsen to the Hut to the death tents, as a girl and her eccentric genius uncle go on a wild trek across Antarctica. I meant to do a proper review of this book at Goodreads (which I always forget I have) but mostly: it's a chilling, incredibly well executed YA novel that definitely sticks with a person. Good if you have any kind of snow fetish, and especially good if you can identify with an imaginary-friend crush on a dead polar explorer who lives inside your brain.

This not-having-internet thing is wreaking havoc with my ability to catch up on TV.. I've seen the first two eps of House, the Bones premiere, the one new HIMYM, and that's it. Oh, except for Secret Pregnancy Diary of a Call Girl, which continues to make me happy beyond all reason. As we speak I'm dling the new one so I can go home from the internet cafe. At some point, with internet, I'll take down the rest.

Elsewhere I finished playing Culpa Innata and have started playing Next Life.

I quite liked Culpa Innata; it took over a week to complete and I found it good and meaty and with a nice balance of puzzles. If anyone out there plays PC adventure games and wants it, speak up! I'll send it in the mail with the install code.

So far Next Life is about... 1/2 "Lost" and the other 1/2 annoying timed arcade games. I'm not far enough into the story to have any real opinion, except that it's anyone's guess if I stick with the game long enough to get there. Right now I'm trapped in a repeating time-loop trying to put out a fire and save a man from cardiac arrest with nothing but a rubber boot and a broken windshield-wiper.

And if you've ever tried playing a PC adventure game without the internet and its array of hints, walkthroughs and cheats, lemme just tell you, it's CRIPPLING. I am right now as we speak downloading a bunch of walkthroughs to keep saved on my hard drive, just in case. I mean, there's only so long I'm going to try and fill up the boot with water from the river only to learn I can't do that.
sab: (dw >> that's "screwdriver")
Anyone want to teach me/help me learn Hebrew? I can teach you Spanish in return... or English; I dabble in that one too.

Todah rabah, &c...
sab: (un >> barack the vote)
...or, the nice thing about memes is the inherent ability to blame time-wasting on someone else.

That said, the lyric game is going around...

you guess 'em, you get to take 'em home )
sab: (un >> the patchwork girl of oz)
According to that meme making its memeish way around (which I'm quite enjoying, you are all adorably ruffled and charming and I love to see you in my computer machine!):

take a picture of yourself right now.
don't change your clothes, don't fix your hair... just take a picture.
post that picture with NO editing.
post these instructions with your picture.


I used my camera cap thingy; that's Starbucks behind me. Well, Starbucks all around me.

i always look so confused and sleepy without my glasses on )


And conf. to [livejournal.com profile] chr0me_kitten, come on LJTalk at some point, if you can? Your comments were awesomely helpful.
sab: (bsg >> cylon rebel grrls)
I need one of those people who knows Battlestar Galactica so well that they can answer questions like, "was Tyrol in that scene where they bombed the Cylon factory?" and "how long was Gina in jail?"

A VERY SIGNIFICANT REWARD will be provided to the person or persons who can hop on LJTalk and help me out. No, really.
sab: (da >> meow!)
HAWKEYE, my BOY, my FURRIEST boy, my FURBYCAT, CAME HOME!

I was lying awake, miserable, watching The Larry Sanders Show and drowning my sorrows in David Duchovny's big gay lust, and hours went by, as they do, as I haven't slept more than 3 or 4 hours a night in the last two weeks, and at 5:30 this morning I heard a MEOW I recognized. I shot upright. It wasn't the Hoop; it wasn't her friend Giant Calico Monster, and it wasn't Backhouse Neighbor's Whining Unseen Cat. It was the broken meower I knew and loved, the little YIP! of my FURRY BOY.

I raced out to my front door, made a "yip," and he came flying in the window meowing and yipping and happy to be home!

He is severely skinny, with a bumpy visible spine and shoulderblades and he weighs approximately zero pounds, but he's clear-eyed and happy and a little exhausted and I fed him a ton of wet food and bought some more today, all his favorite chicken flavors, and I gave him his favorite treat -- water drunk out of the palm of my hand -- and we snuggled in bed all night and HAWKEYE'S BACK!

Thank you for all your sympathy and well-wishing. This here is to prove that not every cat lost in coyote territory gets eaten by a coyote, and that scared patchy cats who disappear for three weeks DO come home.

This post has been brought to you by BIG GIANT SMILE.

Now, my script is due this weekend, so, nose, meet grindstone.

And then I need to think about MOVING. But that's a story for another day.
sab: (mash >> HA!)
So there's this secret meme where a list of 30 questions is passed from mother to daughter imaginary friend to imaginary friend, and then you answer the questions in your LJ without posting the q's, and then anyone who wants to join the cult can hop aboard and get a copy of the secret questions themselves. Does that make sense? It did to me, but only after [livejournal.com profile] runpunkrun explained it to me slowly like I'm three.

So here it is:

There are 30 questions.

Answer each question with one name.

Next to each number, write only the name of the person who fits.

Don't tell the questions to anyone who isn't doing the meme.


1. [livejournal.com profile] geekturnedvamp
2. [livejournal.com profile] qowf
3. Want to try it for a day, [livejournal.com profile] zauberer_sirin?
4. [livejournal.com profile] txvoodoo, and [livejournal.com profile] malnpudl, really, it's a tie.
5. [livejournal.com profile] tzikeh, who doesn't seem, but IS.
6. Oh, so many of you! But I'll take [livejournal.com profile] slodwick for 500, Alex.
7. [livejournal.com profile] boniblithe
8. [livejournal.com profile] nerdcakes, if she were a decade older.
9. Back atcha, [livejournal.com profile] runpunkrun; even several in a row.
10. [livejournal.com profile] fialka
11. Hee, well, historically, [livejournal.com profile] pene. But not anymore.
12. [livejournal.com profile] wurwilf
13. [livejournal.com profile] general_jinjur, in my world, anyway.
14. Oh, for reals. [livejournal.com profile] projectjulie, but only for fun.
15. Oh, for reals, redux. Um, [livejournal.com profile] beerbad, but just for fun and to correspond with 14.
16. Whut? [livejournal.com profile] killabeez, but in the admiring sense of the word.
17. [livejournal.com profile] scrunchy, see above re: admiring.
18. [livejournal.com profile] stickykeys633
19. [livejournal.com profile] qowf, with another big IS, not SEEMS.
20. [livejournal.com profile] jood, and it amuses me all the time.
21. [livejournal.com profile] furies, every day.
22. [livejournal.com profile] runpunkrun, till the wheels come off.
23. [livejournal.com profile] samdonne, and anyone who doesn't agree just hasn't met her.
24. Yah! [livejournal.com profile] shrift maybe. *ducks*
25. [livejournal.com profile] moireach...
26. [livejournal.com profile] gamesiplay, with the right booze and soundtrack.
27. [livejournal.com profile] ropo
28. Oh man, [livejournal.com profile] chr0me_kitten. I would pay big money.
29. [livejournal.com profile] mostlikely2, though it would end in heartbreak and/or a Bildungsroman.
30. Wanna play some Boggle?

*

Comment by swearing in blood that you're gonna do the meme, and I will give you the secret handshake and the list of q's.
sab: (dw >> no second chances)
My neighbors moved out today, in an abrupt race to get away from some gang warfare on our block; it's pretty ugly.

They took the internet with them, so now I have no internet at home. Also still no car.

Kelly, my other neighbor, says she has seen coyotes all over our block this week. I haven't seen Hawkeye now in like two weeks. Everytime I think about it I start to cry. Whoops, there I go again. MY FURBYCAT! MY BOY! God. I miss him SO MUCH.

I have a new job with a pr firm! Which I can't GET to because she's in, like, ENCINO. I'm working on that right now. I'm still working for Tokyopop and am starting a new manga book shortly.

This is the first time in recallable history that I have had JOBS and not anything else! It's always been the other way around. I'm not sure which one's better.

So I am moving to Toronto this year if it kills me. I need to get a job before I move, so I can cross the border with a work visa. PLEASE, INTERNETS, help me out? Get me the hell out of LA?

I'm not going to buy another car here, or get a new apartment here (despite the gangs), and the jobs are horrible here, and I am SO OVER LA. GET ME OUT OF HERE.

And please tell the cosmos to be good to my Hawkeye? To make sure he's in a better place, and has all the catnip and chicken he needs...?

I gotta go home now. I won't have internet there. Call me, willya?
sab: (s&a >> tennant's hamlet)
I dreamed that Tennant's Hamlet was coming to the Pantages, and [livejournal.com profile] lizlet and I rushed over to the box office and got front row seats ($295; I wrote a bad check, god, even in my dreams I'm broke)!

Hamlet, please never come to the Pantages. I mean, not EVER. You can come to the Taper if you want -- but you and me know, David, it's better to avoid LA altogether. Deal?


*
sab: (un >> filibuster vigilantly)
Seriously, SERIOUSLY I don't know if I can take this election without Olbermann anchoring me it. [livejournal.com profile] notpoetry, what's the skinny? Peter Jennings got me through the first Bush election and Brian Williams got me through the second, and I need you, Keith!

Keith's apology for the 9/11 video was one of the most honest, human responses I've seen on the news lately. Isn't that exactly what we want in an anchor trying to negotiate a vitriolic election? You demote him to "commentator" and all of a sudden he's Michael Moore, and cast as the liberal flag waver. After that, it will be so so SO much harder to move him back into an impartial anchor position.

I AM NOT OKAY! [livejournal.com profile] notpoetry, fix this.



/
sab: (jp >> nibbled to death by dinos)
When last we left our hero, she was bemoaning the fact that her car died, kaput, and was only able to sell it for scrap for $150 after the mechanic hauled it out of the middle of the road.

Now I'm going back and forth a lot on the Sunset bus, which means I can get to Amoeba and my Starbucks, and so far that's kept me from going mad, though eventually I have to get to other places, like work and peoples' houses and the grocery store, and do other things, like shop and do laundry and then carry it home, so I think we're definitely in the band-aid phase of the healing process.

Also, Hawkeye, my boy cat, my furry boy, who's been with me for ten years and through as many apartments, who's driven across the country with me twice, is MISSING.

I mean, sometimes he wanders off or spends the night with friends, and has been known to be away for a couple or three days at a time, but it has now officially been OVER a WEEK and I am SCARED! I made signs to put up all over town, but I'm especially worried because he had fleas and so was engaged in some nervous licking, and was all patchy and raw, and I had to spray him with the anti-itch spray, which he hated, and it was a sad night a week or so ago when I went to spray him and he freaked out and ran off... and has not been home since.

That was a long sentence, but my furry boy is worth it. If you live in LA, he's black and puffy and scared and wonderful and patchy from licking, please help me find him!

bye, car

Aug. 30th, 2008 07:33 pm
sab: (jer >> a virgin who can't drive)
Yesterday, with barely any warning, my car up and died in the middle of a left turn from Sunset onto Edgemont. I managed to nudge it to the curb, walked to my mechanic's, came back with the mechanic who pronounced the car dead at the scene. Considering it was a 1981 with over 200k miles on it, and considering it gave me a year (and this, particular, high gas price year) of good diesel/biodiesel mileage, and that the cost to fix it would be nearly three times as much as the value of the car, it's not like I didn't know this would happen someday.

But it was nice when I had a car.
sab: (fg >> you might think we're in sync)
Was time for an end-of-summer music compilation, a present from me to youse. You'll see my favorites showing at the seams, 18 tracks by 14 artists. *g* Even the title's from the Hold Steady's "Charlemagne in Sweatpants," though that track didn't make the cut; I think it was on my last mix; god forbid I should have repeats! Anyway, download, enjoy, if music be the food of love rock on, &c.


Tramps Like Us (And We Like Tramps)
1. Slung-Lo - Erin McKeown
2. Uh-Merica - Regina Spektor
3. Mystery and Crime - Joel Plaskett Emergency
4. Most People Are DJs - The Hold Steady
5. Lay Me Down - Glen Hansard, Live
6. Keep It There - The Weepies
7. Going Crazy - Jean Grae
8. Identity Theft - Nellie McKay
9. Lake Street Is For Lovers - Lifter Puller
10. Fogtown (Michelle Shocked Cover) - Glen Hansard & Mic Christopher, Live
11. Work Out Fine - Joel Plaskett Emergency
12. Certain Songs - The Hold Steady
13. Ride The Nuclear Wave - The Oranges Band
14. When Doves Cry (Prince Cover) - The Be Good Tanyas
15. We're Both So Sorry - Mirah
16. In Spite Of Me - Morphine
17. Me & My Microphone - Kano ft. Kate Nash
18. Bonus Tracks: Ask Her For Adderall, Cheyenne Sunrise, Two Handed Handshake - The Hold Steady


Tramps Like Us (And We Like Tramps) 83mb, rar file




Anything you like, ask me, I'll give ya more! Also you should buy cds from all of these artists, as each one is fantastic and worth knowing.
sab: (dw >> i'm on TV!)
Oh, people. NOT okay, not okay, NOT a good idea!

Doctor Who specials, no spoilers, just a TERRIBLE IDEA.

[livejournal.com profile] lizlet, HOLD ME. HOLD MEEEEE.

Profile

sab: (Default)
sab

May 2018

S M T W T F S
  123 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 08:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios